## EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COVENTRY

18<sup>th</sup> September 2012

## PRESENT

## Lord Mayor (Councillor Sawdon)

Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Crookes)

**Councillor Mrs Abbott** Councillor Akhtar Councillor Ali **Councillor Andrews** Councillor Auluck **Councillor Bains** Councillor Mrs Bigham Councillor Blundell Councillor Caan **Councillor Chater Councillor Clifford Councillor Duggins Councillor Mrs Fletcher Councillor Foster Councillor Galliers Councillor Gannon Councillor Gingell Councillor Hammon Councillor Harvard Councillor Mrs Hetherton Councillor Howells Councillor Innes** Councillor Kelly Councillor Kershaw Councillor A. Khan

Councillor Lakha **Councillor Lancaster** Councillor Mrs Lepoidevin **Councillor Mrs Lucas Councillor McNicholas** Councillor Maton **Councillor Mrs Miks** Councillor Mulhall Councillor J. Mutton Councillor Mrs M. Mutton **Councillor Noonan** Councillor O'Boyle **Councillor Ruane Councillor Sandy** Councillor Sehmi **Councillor Singh Councillor Skipper Councillor Mrs Sweet** Councillor Taylor Councillor Thay **Councillor Thomas Councillor Townshend** Councillor Walsh **Councillor Welsh** 

Apologies: Councillor Williams

In attendance: Mr Dave Batten Mr John Gazey Mr Trevor Webb Mrs Joan Wright

## **Public Business**

## 60. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

## 61. Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman

The City Council considered a report of the Director of Customer and Workforce Services which set out the first set of nominations for Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen. The following four nominations had been received and were presented for approval:

## (a) Trevor Webb OBE

Mr Webb served as a Member of the Council between 1967 to 1971 and 1973 to 1990. During that time, he was Chair of Finance Committee and a long serving member on Planning Committee. He received his honour from Her Majesty the Queen in 1988 in recognition of his duty to the public and political services.

It was proposed by Councillor Hammon seconded by Councillor Townshend, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Trevor Webb OBE as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr. Webb with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen'. Honorary Alderman Webb then gave an acceptance speech.

#### (b) Joan Wright

Mrs Wright was a Member of the Council between 1986 and 2002. During that time she was a leading Councillor on issues relating to social services and the environment. She was also Lord Mayor during the Millennium year of 1999-2000.

It was proposed by Councillor Fletcher seconded by Councillor Foster, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on Joan Wright as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mrs. Wright with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate her appointment and she signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen'. Honorary Alderman Mrs Wright then gave an acceptance speech.

#### (c) David Batten

Mr Batten was a Member of the City Council from 1990 until 2008. During that time he chaired numerous Committees and Panels and in particular Cabinet Member for City Development, as well as undertaking the role of Lord Mayor in 2007-2008.

It was proposed by Councillor J Mutton seconded by Councillor Sandy, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on David

# Batten as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr. Batten with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen'. Honorary Alderman Batten then gave an acceptance speech.

(d) John Gazey

John Gazey was a Member of the Council representing the citizens of Bablake Ward between 1987 and 2012. During this lengthy service he became Coventry's Lord Mayor in 2004-2005 and served on a wide range of Committees.

It was proposed by Councillor Kershaw seconded by Councillor Galliers, and resolved unanimously that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on John Gazey as a past member of the Council in recognition of giving eminent services to the Council and the City for at least 15 years, and that a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to mark the conferment.

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr. Gazey with a badge and framed certificate to commemorate his appointment and he signed the 'Roll of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen'. Honorary Alderman Gazey then gave an acceptance speech.

Meeting closed at 2.50 pm